Recommendations

I discovered Goodreads a few months ago, late to the party as always. I wasn’t sure I saw the point of it, and I was already pretty entrenched over at LibraryThing. Goodreads is fine and all, but I suspect it works best when you maximize the social network aspect of the site for recommendations. I’ve got a few friends over there (thanks!) but I’d benefit from more (feel free to find me).

I don’t always like having a book recommended to me. In fact, I can get downright surly about it. These other eager beaver book readers, pushing their mysteries, their thrillers, their newly-hit bestsellers at me… their “Oh you’ll love this” and “It’s a great summer read” and “You like non-fiction, don’t you?” queries. Who are these people, these other readers, to presume they know what I would like? I read voraciously, but I’m picky. I like what I like, and I don’t like, most emphatically, the rest.

But I’ve figured out lately that book recommending isn’t really about the person you’re recommending to. It’s about enthusing about the book you love. One reader gushing to another about their latest find. I learned this when I found myself recommending Hilary Mantel’s two Thomas Cromwell novels, Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, to everyone in sight… despite the fact that historical fiction isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, that few people are as passionate about the Tudors as I am, and both of them are quite lengthy (but not long enough! I never wanted either to end). I can’t help myself. I want to shout it from the rooftops: I’m in love with a book, and it’s the best feeling in the world.

3 thoughts on “Recommendations

  1. I agree, I am picky, but I use Goodreads to see what people liked and disliked and use it to decide if I will like it. Good reviews seems to have pro’s and cons in some form and its helpful for me to get info beyond the synopsis! I use it at the library and bookstore.

  2. It does seem good for that — but I can get reviews and likes and dislikes from LIbraryThing, where I already have all my books. The part about Goodreads I like is the idea of being able to see what my RL friends are reading these days.

  3. I’m signed up on Goodreads for some reason. Maybe to vote for a book by my BFF? Don’t go there, don’t use librarything. Haven’t read Wolf Hall, sorry, didn’t care for Bring Up The Bodies. I find some books here (thanks Toni), but mostly in the shelves with the staff picks at the library.

    M

Comments are closed.